IPL Team Preview: DD


Team Name:- Delhi Daredevils
Captain:- Kevin Pietersen

Last year saw Delhi Daredevils’s worst performance in the IPL as they came last out of the 8 teams, managing to win just 3 out of their 16 games. They will face the Star-studded RCB in their opening game on Apr 17, 2014 at Sharjah. With the teams undergoing almost a complete makeover this time around, it remains to be seen how the new teams fare as a unit.

Delhi Daredevils Squad for IPL 7

Delhi Daredevils chose not to retain any players before the IPL 7 Auction. They opted to make a fresh start and picked up 23 players at the Auction. With his international career over,Kevin Pietersen will get to play a full season of IPL. He is back with DD as they used right to match card at the auction to get him back.

Squad strength: 23

Costliest player: Dinesh Karthik Rs 12.5 crores

Amount spent: Rs 60 crores (All funds used up).

Overseas players: 7

Batsmen: 9; Bowlers: 9; All-rounders: 3; Wicketkeepers: 2

Player Type Price Paid
Dinesh Karthik Wicket Keeper ₹12,50,00,000
Kevin Pietersen Batsman ₹9,00,00,000
Murali Vijay Batsman ₹5,00,00,000
Mohammad Shami Bowler ₹4,25,00,000
Nathan Coulter-Nile Bowler ₹4,25,00,000
Quinton De Kock Wicket Keeper ₹3,50,00,000
Manoj Tiwary Batsman ₹2,80,00,000
Jaydev Unadkat Bowler ₹2,80,00,000
Jean-Paul Duminy Batsman ₹2,20,00,000
Ross Taylor Batsman ₹2,00,00,000
Kedar Jadhav Batsman ₹2,00,00,000
Rahul Sharma Bowler ₹1,90,00,000
Mayank Agarwal Batsman ₹1,60,00,000
Laxmi Ratan Shukla All-Rounder ₹1,50,00,000
James Neesham All-Rounder ₹1,00,00,000
Wayne Parnell Bowler ₹1,00,00,000
Shahbaz Nadeem Bowler ₹85,00,000
Saurabh Tiwary Batsman ₹70,00,000
Siddarth Kaul Bowler ₹45,00,000
Rahul Shukla Bowler ₹40,00,000
Jayant Yadav All-Rounder ₹10,00,000
HS Sharath Bowler ₹10,00,000
Milind Kumar Batsman ₹10,00,000


Last year’s Strategy:  The franchise before the start of the last season lost three of their players. Varun Aaron and Kevin Pietersen had to withdraw due to injuries and Jesse Ryder was away in New Zealand fighting his way back from a bar-brawl which left him in coma for some time. Even Andre Russell couldn’t play much due to injury issues. However, having said that despite having big names like Jayawardene, David Warner, Ross Taylor and Sehwag in their squad, Delhi experienced one of their worse seasons. Even their bowling didn’t make much impact. Umesh Yadav who was the highest wicket-taker for them last season, had a bowling average of 31.75. They depended on players who were of world-class quality but were too inconsistent in their performances.

This year’s Strategy: The Delhi squad provides a feeling that they will be depending on players who can bat and bowl and are not necessarily slotted as all-rounders as apart from Shami and Parnell, their bowling department doesn’t provide much confidence. Delhi also went for Maharashtra’s highest run-getter Kedar Jadhav and Shahbaz Nadeem, who did well for the franchise last year. James Neesham, who has been touted as an all-rounder with potential will be the man to look out for in Delhi Daredevils along with the captain Kevin Pietersen who is now free from international duties.

Possible Best Playing 11: 

1. Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper)

2. Murali Vijay

3. Kevin Pietersen (OVERSEAS) (C)

4. Ross Taylor (OVERSEAS) 

5. JP Duminy (OVERSEAS) 

6. Manoj Tiwary

7. Kedar Jadhav

8. Jaydev Unadkat

9. Rahul Sharma

10. Wayne parnell (OVERSEAS)

11. Mohammad Shami




Cricket Heaven Staff

CricHeaven is the fastest growing website in cricket world. It publishes news, articles, stats, videos, analysis, critics, and highlights, past history, the schedule of ICC Events and cricket rankings.To work on this there is a young and enthusiastic team of writers. We have a whooping fan base on the social media.